It's the human and fun side of our sports heroes

7 teams collide in PH Premier League


MANILA — Seven clubs confirmed their participation in the rehashed Philippine Premier League, which will start on March 30.

Defending champion Ceres Negros and reigning Copa Paulino Alcantara winner Kaya Iloilo will headline the teams that will join this season, as announced by Commissioner Bernie Sumayao on Friday.

Former top flight champs Stallion Laguna and United Makati, formerly known as Global Cebu, also made the cut – along with another former league champ, Air Force, which is making a return to Division 1 football.

Reigning WFL Elite champion Green Archers United essentially made a promotion to the PPL as its participation was also confirmed, while Mendiola completes the cast.

“We thank these seven teams for confirming their participation in the PPL,” Sumayao said.

The season will kick off with a doubleheader at the Rizal Memorial Stadium here.

The curtain-raiser will kick off at 4 p.m., while the main game will follow at 7 p.m. (PNA)