It's the human and fun side of our sports heroes

Former, reigning UAAP champions pack SEA Games lineup


Fastbreak_SpikeThere were nine past and present UAAP champions in the 12-strong lineup for the PH Womens Volleyball Team that will represent the country in the Singapore SEA Games next month.

These former UAAP titlists include: Rachel Daquis of FEU (2007), Aiza Maizo, Rhea Dimaculangan, Maika Ortiz and Dindin Manabat of UST, (2010) Alyssa Valdez, Dennise Lazaro and Jia Morado of Ateneo (2014 to 2015) and Abigail Maraño of La Salle (2011 to 2013).

Manabat finished college in NU but not before playing for UST, her highschool team, in the UAAP during her freshman year in college to win her first and last UAAP Srs. title. Her sister, Jaja Santiago, is also included in the PH Team for the SEA Games.

Rounding up the list are: former V-League champion Jovelyn Gonzaga and NCAA MVP Gretchel Soltones who are also V-league and NCAA title-holders, respectively.