Ish Polvorosa Weighs on Controversial PSL Call
Emotions came flying during the PSL game between Foton and the Cignal HD Spikers after the referee made a controversial call.
Apparently, the ‘bad call’ was against Cignal, wherein, the team made 4 touches with the ball during a block motion. The referee claimed that it was a violation since the ball had already landed in the head of a Cignal player during a block attempt.
However, Ish Polvorosa thinks that the call is not legitimate based on the FIVB rulebook saying that consecutive contacts with the ball may occur by one or more blockers, provided that the contacts are made during one action.
Another rule suggests that the ball may touch various parts of the body, provided that the contacts take place simultaneously.
How will you weigh in on this issue?
Do our referees need to take a little refresher on volleyball rules?
Disclaimer: saying this not because I'm from Cignal but cuz it's what I think abt the play.
I think that the call was wrong. It should've been regarded as a block touch cuz the contested "first touch" came from a blocking movement. Thus, the 4-touches vio. call's inappropriate. https://t.co/WMbkKDjYEj
— Ish Polvorosa (@ishpolvorosa) November 6, 2018
This is what I also saw. So, based on this, if our interpretation's correct, then yeah the call might really be incorrect. I am not really sure how this is taught in ref seminars and trainings so yeah again, this is only how I see it. pic.twitter.com/ZbVopoaWWd
— Ish Polvorosa (@ishpolvorosa) November 7, 2018