It's the human and fun side of our sports heroes

Melliza, Kane get Azkals’ call up vs Yemen


At least two new faces will get their first-ever call ups for the men’s national football team that will face Yemen on October 10 in Saoud Bin Abdulrahman Stadium in Doha, Qatar.

Stallion FC Laguna’s scoring machine Jhan Jhan Melliza and JP Voltes Marikina FC defender Sean Patrick Kane were the latest additions made by national coach Thomas Dooley.

Melliza is expected to provide the Azkals another scoring option due to the absence of striker Javier Patiño and midfielder Misagh Bahadoran. Melliza is among the leading scorers in the Philippines Football League and one of the reasons why the Laguna side is no longer a push over in the domestic league.

Patiño and Bahadoran, along with defenders Amani Aguinaldo and Luke Woodland are out of the team due to injuries. FC Meralco Manila’s Curt Dizon will mark his return to the national team after an absence of almost three years.

Defender Daisuke Sato is also back after missing the Azkals’ game against Yemen in Panaad Park and Stadium in Bacolod City last September 5.

The Denmark-based Fil-Japanese player served a one game suspension due to accumulated yellow cards. The Philippine Azkals and Yemen battled to a 2-2 draw in their last game. Phil and James Younghusband each scored a goal in salvaging a point for the Philippines.

The draw, however, was enough for the Azkals to retain the lead in Group F in the AFC Asian Cup Qualifier with seven points. The rest of the members of the Philippine Azkals:

1. Dylan DE BRUYCKER – Davao Aguilas FC
2. Carlos DE MURGA – Ceres Negros FC
3. Dominic DEL ROSARIO – Global Cebu FC
4. Patrick DEYTO – Global Cebu FC
5. Curt DIZON – FC Meralco Manila
6. Neil ETHERIDGE – Cardiff City FC
7. Harry FÖLL – FC Hansa Rostock
8. Kevin INGRESO – Ceres Negros FC
9. Sean Patrick KANE – JPV Marikina FC
10. Jesus Joaquin MELLIZA – Stallion Laguna FC
11. Hikaru MINEGISHI – Global Cebu FC
12. Paul MULDERS – Global Cebu FC
13. Jim Junior MUÑOZ – Ceres Negros FC
14. Nicholas O’DONNELL – Davao Aguilas FC
15. Manuel OTT – Ceres Negros FC
16. Mike Rigoberto OTT – Angthong United
17. Stephan PALLA – Wolfsberger AC
18. Iain RAMSAY – Ceres Negros FC
19. Simone ROTA – Davao Aguilas FC
20. Daisuke SATO – AC Horsens
21. Dennis VILLANUEVA – Global Cebu FC
22. James YOUNGHUSBAND – Davao Aguilas FC
23. Phil YOUNGHUSBAND – Davao Aguilas FC

By Erel Cabatbat/Lito Oredo