It's the human and fun side of our sports heroes

NLEX’s Cyrus Baguio Call it Quits After 17 PBA Seasons


NLEX Road Warriors guard Cyrus Baguio has call it quits on his professional basketball career after a colorful 17-years crowned by three Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) championships.

NLEX representative Ronald Dulatre confirmed in an interview with on Sunday that the former University of Santo Tomas Growling Tigers star have decided not to renew his deal with the team.

“Yes, he’s retired,” Dulatre said.

Baguio’s manager Danny Espiritu also confirmed Baguio’s retirement as the latter will now focus tending to his huge poultry business in Pampanga.

“Oo retired na siya. Last year niya pa inisip yan. Last contract niya na yun with NLEX,” Espiritu said. “Pinag-bigyan naman siya ng NLEX and nag-usap naman sila ng maayos.”

According to Espiritu, Baguio was supposed to call it quits last year after signing a one-conference deal prior to the 2020 PBA Philippine Cup, but the Iligan, Lanao Del Norte-native also did not join the Road Warriors in the PBA bubble for personal reasons.

Baguio started his PBA career after being drafted by then Red Bull and now Road Warriors head coach Joseller “Yeng” Guiao in the second round of the 2003 PBA Rookie Draft.

After winning a championship with Red Bull in 2005-2006 PBA Commissioner’s Cup, Baguio was traded to Burger King Whoppers and later to Barangay Ginebra San Miguel Kings before landing at Alaska Aces to win two championships in 2010 and 2013.

After six seasons with the Aces, he was dealt to Phoenix Fuel Masters and played with the team for a year, before finally being reunited with Guiao at the Road Warriors, which acquired him in 2017.

Prior to his PBA stint, Baguio was a former standout of the Growling Tigers under legendary head coach Aric del Rosario. He also played for the Team Philippines in the 2009 FIBA Asian Men’s Championship in Tianjin, China.

In his 17-year PBA career, Baguio made the Mythical Second Team twice, was the 2008 Most Improved Player, the 2010 Samboy Lim Sportsmanship awardee, won the slam dunk title in 2004, and was an All-Star 11 times.