PBA mulls sanction for referee in NorthPort-Phoenix blunder call
The PBA admitted the blunder committed by one of its referees late in the 2019 Philippine Cup game between NorthPort and Phoenix on Wednesday night.
The contest was tied at 96-all when Sean Anthony was whistled for an offensive foul on Justin Chua by referee Noy Guevarra. The Batang Pier went on to lose the game, 98-96.
However, in a statement Thursday, the league’s Technical Group admitted that the foul called on Anthony was “wrong.”
“Upon review of the video of the February 27, 2019 game between Northport Batang Pier and Phoenix Pulse Fuel Masters, the PBA Technical Group had come to the conclusion and admits that the Offensive Foul called by referee Noy Guevarra against Northport’s Sean Anthony, during the last 47.8 seconds of the 4th quarter of the game, was a wrong call,” the PBA said.
“It was an unfortunate mistake by the referee in calling the offensive foul and we regret the wrong call made,” it added.
The league is now eyeing to give the erring referee appropriate sanction for the blunder.
“Rest assured that the PBA Technical Group holds impartiality, transparency, fairness and integrity as prime values in officiating and with only what is best for the league and its fans in mind,” the PBA added.