It's the human and fun side of our sports heroes

Tria, Iglupas rule PHILTA Nat’l Students Championships


MANILA — Jose Antonio Tria of Colegio San Agustin and Khim Iglupas of the University of the Philippines topped their respective divisions in the Philippine Tennis Association (PHILTA) National Students Championships at the Rizal Memorial Tennis Center on Friday.

Tria, who teamed up with national player Francis Casey Alcantara to win the 2018 Philippine Columbian Association (PCA) Open men’s doubles title, pulled off a 6-1, 6-2 victory over Marc Suson of San Beda University-Rizal to capture the men’s singles title.

Tria, son of actress Cherry Pie Picache, prevailed over Jose Julian Dayrit of Ateneo de Manila University, 1-6, 7-5, 10-5, to arrange a titular showdown with Suson, who rallied past Claudio Canlas of Ateneo de Manila University, 4-6, 6-4, 10-5.

Tria, a member of the Junior Davis team last year, also won the doubles title with Rolly Saga from the University of the East, beating Ateneans Luke Flores and Dayrit, 7-6 (2), 6-2.

In the semifinal round, Tria and Saga conquered Abson Alejandre and Jeremiah Latorre of National University, 6-2, 6-1, while Flores and Dayrit won over Bernlou Bering and Francis Lanzado of the University of Santo Tomas, 7-5, 4-6, 10-4.

Meanwhile, Iglupas downed Jana Pages of Ateneo de Manila University, 7-5, 6-3, in the women’s singles final.

Iglupas, who competed at the 2017 SEA Games in Malaysia and 2018 Asian Games in Indonesia, downed Jenaila Prulla of Bulacan, 6-2, 6-3, while Pages outplayed Titan Llavore of Ateneo de Manila University, 7-5, 3-6, 10-8 in the semifinal round.

In the doubles, Khyshanna Hitosis and Princess Catindig of San Beda University-Manila were crowned champions following a 6-2, 6-2 victory over Nicole Amistad and Camille So of Ateneo de Manila University.

Hitosis and Catindig beat schoolmates Virvien Bejosano and Mikaela Javier, 6-0, 6-1, to set up a final meeting with Amistad and So, who survived Bianca Pica and Marielli Cruz of San Beda University-Rizal, 6-4, 4-6, 10-5.

Other schools that participated in the PHILTA National Students Championships, which was organized by the Children’s Tennis and Sports Management, were San Beda University-Mendiola, San Beda College-Alabang, De La Salle University, De La Salle-Lipa, Adamson University, Far Eastern University, ENDERUN School-Bulacan, National University, and British International School. (PNA)